Diverse Radio for Minnesota’s Communities

18 Unique Stations from Border to Border

About Ampers | Scholarships

AMPERS supports the concept that the survival and growth of radio broadcasting is dependent
on talented and well-educated individuals interested in a career in broadcasting. To this end,
AMPERS offers an annual $1,000 scholarship to an individual, working at an AMPERS station,
that is or will be pursuing a career in broadcast communications through an institution of higher
education in the State of Minnesota. The award will be issued to the educational institution in
the winner’s name to be applied towards tuition.

The Bryan Petersen Memorial Scholarship
The scholarship is named for Bryan Petersen: 1938-1989. Bryan was a founding member of
AMPERS and was one of the leaders in persuading legislators of the need for the ongoing support
of public radio in Minnesota. He was educated at Concordia College, Drew University, the New
College Seminary in Edinburgh, Scotland, and Harvard Theological School.

Bryan was a community activist who worked with Latin American refugees, low-income
housing, alternative energy and a variety of community theatre programs. Bryan was largely
responsible for the organizational direction, licensing and power increases for Fresh Air Radio (KFAI)
in Minneapolis. He served as board member and president of Fresh Air Radio.

Applications for  2024 Bryan Peterson Memorial Scholarship are due MAY 31, 2024.

Previous Scholarship Winners

2023 Darby Comiskey, Hamline University, Twin Cities
2022 Max Gouette, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
2021 Sam Goetzinger, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
2020 Joely Kelzer, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2019 Rollie Dethloff, Minnesota State University Moorhead, KAXE – KBXE
2018 Max Perkins, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2017 Alex Purfeerst, Minnesota State University-Mankato, KMSU
2016 Jaak Jensen, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2015 Matthew Curtis, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2014 Michael Maurer, Minnesota State University–Mankato, KMSU
2013 Meagan Nouis, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2012 Molly Zafft, WTIP, Grand Marais
2011 Grace Webb, Minnesota State University-Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
2010 Jon Schober, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2009 Michael Jamnick, St. Cloud State University, KVSC
2008 Zack Thieman, Mankato State University, KMSU
2007 Ronald Miller, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2006 Samrat Kharel, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
2005 Nathan Wardinski, Minnesota State University-Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
2004 Melissa Specken, Minnesota State University-Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
2003 Afsina Vildiz, Winona State U, KQAL
2002 Michael Davies-Venn, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
2001 Nichole Neuman, University of Minnesota, Radio K
2000 Melissa Mendelson, University of Minnesota, KFAI
1999 Heidi Holst, Winona State U, KQAL
1998 Amy Dahlin, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
1997 Jason Mediger, Mankato State U, KMSU
1996 Jeff Chamberlin, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
1995 Kevin Kienbaum, St. Olaf College, WCAL
1994 Steven T. Nelson, University of Minnesota, Radio K
1993 Kyle Smith, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
1992 Dean Beckman, Winona State U, KQAL
1991 Anna Marie Casey, University of Minnesota, Radio K

Application Form

Scholarship Application 2024 (Deadline May 31, 2024) (AMPERS Scholarship 2024 PDF)

Supported by...

McKnight FoundationPohlad family foundationThe Minneapolis FoundationSaint Paul & Minnesota Foundation