Diverse Radio for Minnesota’s Communities

18 Unique Stations from Border to Border

About Ampers | Awards

Ampers Awards

Station of the Year | Awarded to an Ampers station that, during the year, demonstrated excellence in one of
more of these areas: Production, Engineering, Development, Promotion or Community Involvement.

2021 WTIP, Grand Marais, MN
2020: KAXE, Grand Rapids, MN
2019: KSRQ, Thief River Falls, MN
2018: KBEM Jazz88, Minneapolis, MN
2017: KVSC-FM, St. Cloud
2016: KBXE-FM, Bagley/Bemidji
2015: KAXE, Grand Rapids
2012: Kuom/Radio K, University of Minnesota
2011: KMOJ, Minneapolis, MN
2009: KMSU, Minnesota State University Mankato
2007: KVSC, St. Cloud State University
2006: KAXE, Grand Rapids, MN

Broadcaster of the Year | Awarded to an individual associated with an Ampers station who, during the year,
demonstrated excellence in one or more of the following areas: Production, Engineering, Development, Promotion or Community Involvement.

2021: Joel Glaser, Ampers
2020: Freddie Bell, KMOJ
2019: The MN Native News Team
2018: Deb Benedict, WTIP
2017: John Bushey, KUMD-FM
2016: Lisa Johnson, KUMD-FM
2015: Tim “Shyboy” Lind and Shelley Pierce, KMSU
2012: Candace Breedlove, KMOJ
2011: Kirk Kersten, KUMD
2010: Debbie Benedict, WTIP
2008: Andy Marlow, KUOM-AM and FM
2007: Bob Carter, WTIP
2006: Travis Ryder, KSRQ


Station Awards

KFAI (Minneapolis/St. Paul)
2017: Received four “SPJ’s Page One Awards” in the following categories:
Best Radio Feature and Best Special Project/In-Depth Radio Series: “Minneapolis 1931: A Blitzkrieg of Bigotry.”
Best Feature (Radio) category: Nancy Rosenbaum’s feature “How Black Lives Matters Got An Anthem”
Special Project/In-Depth Series (Radio) Category: Melissa Olson, Ryan Katz, and Todd Melby took top
honors for “Stolen Childhoods.”

2016: Eric Sevaried Award of Merit (Small Market Radio Documentary Division)for the “Culture Clique” segment
“Feminism Today.”

KBEM (Minneapolis/St. Paul)
2011: Jane Matteson Outstanding Jazz Educator Award, presented by the Dakota Foundation for Jazz Education

KUMD (Duluth)
2011: Best Radio Station in the Duluth Reader’s Best of 2011
2010: KUMD & Lisa Johnson received the St. Louis River Alliance Environmental Alliance “Environmental
Stewardship Award”

KUOM/Radio K (Minneapolis/St. Paul)
2013: City Pages “Best Radio Station”
2010: City Pages “Best Radio Station”
2009: Mark of Excellence Award (Society of Professional Journalists)
News Reporting, 1st place: “Cedar-Riverside shooting” (Reporter Sarah Boden)
News Reporting, 3rd place: “DTV” (Reporter Ron Miller)
Feature, 3rd Place: “Safe Cigarette Reactions” (Reporter Sarah Boden)
In-Depth Reporting, 3rd place: “Pioneer of Broadcasting: KUOM” (Reporter Ron Miller)
Sports Reporting, 1st place: “Gopher Football 2008” (Reporter Marco LaNave)
Sports Reporting, 2nd place: “Hot Start: Gopher Basketball” (Reporter Marco LaNave)

2009: Eric Sevareid Award (Northwest Broadcast News Association)
Newscast: “Live from the Minnesota State Fair” (Reporters Ron Miller and Ryan Wilson)
Documentary/ Special: “Solar Car Adventure” (Reporter Ron Miller)
Spot News: “Cedar Riverside Shooting” (Reporter Sarah Boden)

2009: CBI (College Broadcasters, Inc) Student Production Awards
Winner: Best Student Media Website
Finalist: Best Station Promotion

Supported by...

McKnight FoundationPohlad family foundationThe Minneapolis FoundationSaint Paul & Minnesota Foundation