

2024 Bryan Petersen Scholarship Application

The Association of Minnesota Public Educational Radio Stations (Ampers) supports the concept that the survival and growth of radio broadcasting are dependent on talented and well-educated individuals pursuing careers in broadcasting.

Ampers is pleased to announce the annual \$1,000 Bryan Petersen Memorial Scholarship awarded to an individual who is or will be pursuing a career in broadcasting through an institution of higher education in the United States. This scholarship opportunity is open to any current resident of Minnesota. The award will be issued to the educational institution in the winner's name to be applied towards tuition.

About Bryan Petersen

The scholarship is named for Bryan Petersen: 1938-1989. Bryan was a founding member of Ampers and was one of the leaders in persuading legislators of the need for the ongoing support of public radio in Minnesota. He was educated at Concordia College, Drew University, the New College Seminary in Edinburgh, Scotland, and Harvard Theological School.

Bryan was a community activist who worked with Latin American refugees, low-income housing, alternative energy, and a variety of community theatre programs. Bryan was largely responsible for the organizational direction, licensing, and power increases for Fresh Air Radio (KFAI) in Minneapolis. He served as a board member and president of Fresh Air Radio.

How to Apply

- The deadline for applications is May 31, 2024.
- The award will be issued to the educational institution in the winner's name to be applied towards tuition.
- Submit an official application via email. The application should include:
 - 1. A completed application form
 - 2. A cover letter that must include an explanation of why you are pursuing a career in broadcasting, mass communications, or creative media.
 - 3. Your resume
 - 4. A recommendation letter from a supervisor, teacher, or colleague that addresses:
 - o How long the person has known the applicant.
 - The relationship the person has with the applicant.
 - Why the applicant is deserving of the scholarship.
- Submit the application and accompanying materials via email to <u>eboun@ampers.org</u>

Rules

- Applicant must be a Minnesota resident attending or planning to attend an accredited institution of higher education within the United States and pursuing a career in radio, mass communications, or broadcasting.
- o Incomplete applications will not be considered.
- o Past recipients are ineligible.
- The Ampers Scholarship Committee will evaluate applications and select the winner.
- Ampers strongly encourages women, people of color, Native Americans, LGBTQIA2S+ individuals, people with disabilities, members of ethnic minorities, foreign-born residents, and Veterans to apply. Applicants will not be discriminated against because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political affiliation, veteran status, medical condition, national origin or ancestry, or any protected category prohibited by state and federal laws.



Previous Scholarship Winners

- 1991 Anna Marie Casey, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 1992 Dean Beckman, Winona State University
- 1993 Kyle Smith, St. Cloud State University
- 1994 Steven T. Nelson, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 1995 Kevin Kienbaum, St. Olaf College
- 1996 Jeff Chamberlin, St. Cloud State University
- 1997 Jason Mediger, Mankato State University
- 1998 Amy Dahlin, St. Cloud State University
- 1999 Heidi Holst, Winona State University
- 2000 Melissa Mendelson, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2001 Nichole Neuman, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2002 Michael Davies-Venn, St. Cloud State University
- 2003 Afsina Vildiz, Winona State University
- 2004 Melissa Specken, Minnesota State University, Mankato
- 2005 Nathan Wardinski, Minnesota State University, Mankato
- 2006 Samrat Kharel, St. Cloud State University
- 2007 Ronald Miller, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2008 Zack Thieman, Mankato State University
- 2009 Michael Jamnick, St. Cloud State University
- 2010 Jon Schober, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2011 Grace Webb, Minnesota State University, Mankato
- 2012 Molly Zafft, WTIP, Grand Marais
- 2013 Meagan Nouis, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2014 Michael Maurer, Minnesota State University, Mankato
- 2015 Matt Curtis, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2016 Jaak Jensen, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2017 Alex Purfeerst, Minnesota State University, Mankato
- 2018 Max Perkins, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2019 Rollie Dethloff, Minnesota State University, Moorhead
- 2020 Joely Kelzer, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2021 Sam Goetzinger, St. Cloud State University
- 2022 Max Gouette, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
- 2023 Darby Comiskey, Hamline University, Twin Cities



Bryan Petersen Memorial Scholarship Application

Name:		
Mailing Address:		
City:	State:	ZIP:
Email:		
Phone:		
School Currently Attending:		
Major (or intended major):		
Graduation Date:		

Attachments:

- ✓ Cover Letter
- ✓ Resume
- ✓ Recommendation Letter

Information to include in Cover Letter:

- Any experience you have working or volunteering at a radio station or broadcast facility including where you worked or volunteered, how long you worked or volunteered at the station and what you did.
- 2. Why do you want to pursue a career in broadcasting?
- 3. Why should the committee select you as the scholarship winner?
- 4. How are you financing your education?
- 5. List any volunteer activities, honors, offices held, awards, etc. that you have received.

Submit application and accompanying materials via email to: eboun@ampers.org Due

by May 31, 2024