

## 2020 Bryan Petersen Scholarship Application

Ampers supports the concept that the survival and growth of radio broadcasting is dependent on talented and well-educated individuals pursuing careers related to broadcasting.

Ampers is pleased to announce the annual \$1,000 Bryan Petersen Memorial Scholarship awarded to an individual that is or will be pursuing a career in broadcasting through an institution of higher education in the State of Minnesota. The award will be issued to the educational institution in the winner's name to be applied towards tuition.

### **About Bryan Petersen**

The scholarship is named for Bryan Petersen: 1938-1989. Bryan was a founding member of Ampers and was one of the leaders in persuading legislators of the need for ongoing support of public radio in Minnesota. He was educated at Concordia College, Drew University, the New College Seminary in Edinburgh, Scotland, and Harvard Theological School.

Bryan was a community activist who worked with Latin American refugees, low-income housing, alternative energy and a variety of community theatre programs. Bryan was largely responsible for organizational direction, licensing and power increases for Fresh Air Radio (KFAI) in Minneapolis. He served as board member and president of Fresh Air Radio.

### **How to Apply**

- Deadline for applications is May 31, 2020.
- The award will be issued to the educational institution in the winner's name to be applied towards tuition.
- Submit an official application via email. The application should include:
  - 1. Completed application form
  - Cover letter
  - 3. Resume
  - 4. Recommendation letter from the radio station manager, supervisor or colleague that addresses:
    - O How long the applicant has worked with the station.
    - A list of the departments in which the applicant has worked.
    - A list of the specific duties and performance
    - o A comment concerning the applicant's performance in each department.
- Submit application and accompanying materials via email to maddi@ampers.org

### Rules

- Applicants must be attending or planning to attend an accredited institution of higher education within the State of Minnesota.
- o Incomplete applications will not be considered.
- Past recipients are ineligible.
- The Ampers Scholarship Committee will evaluate applications and select the winner.
- Applications will be judged without regard to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, disability, public assistance status, veteran status, or sexual orientation.



## **Previous Scholarship Winners**

- 1991 Anna Marie Casey, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 1992 Dean Beckman, Winona State U, KQAL
- 1993 Kyle Smith, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
- 1994 Steven T. Nelson, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 1995 Kevin Kienbaum, St. Olaf College, WCAL
- 1996 Jeff Chamberlin, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
- 1997 Jason Mediger, Mankato State U, KMSU
- 1998 Amy Dahlin, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
- 1999 Heidi Holst, Winona State U, KQAL
- 2000 Melissa Mendelson, University of Minnesota, KFAI
- 2001 Nichole Neuman, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2002 Michael Davies-Venn, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
- 2003 Afsina Vildiz, Winona State U, KQAL
- 2004 Melissa Specken, Minnesota State U Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
- 2005 Nathan Wardinski, Minnesota State U Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
- 2006 Samrat Kharel, St. Cloud State U, KVSC
- 2007 Ronald Miller, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2008 Zack Thieman, Mankato State University, KMSU
- 2009 Michael Jamnick, St. Cloud State University, KVSC
- 2010 Jon Schober, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2011 Grace Webb, Minnesota State University, Mankato, KMSU/KMSK
- 2012 Molly Zafft, WTIP, Grand Marais
- 2013 Meagan Nouis, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2014 Michael Maurer, Minnesota State University, Mankato, KMSU
- 2015 Matt Curtis, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2016 Jaak Jensen, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2017 Alex Purfeerst, Minnesota State University Mankato, KMSU
- 2018 Max Perkins, University of Minnesota, Radio K
- 2019 Rollie Dethloff, Minnesota State University Moorhead, KAXE KBXE



# **Bryan Petersen Memorial Scholarship Application**

Name:		
Mailing Address:		
City:	State:	ZIP:
Email:		
Phone:		
School Currently Attending:		
Major:		
Graduation Date:		

### **Attachments:**

- Cover Letter
- Resume
- · Recommendation Letter

#### Information to include in Cover Letter:

- 1. At what radio station do you work and/or volunteer?
- 2. How long have you volunteered or worked at the station?
- 3. Describe your volunteer/ work duties at the station.
- 4. Why do you want to pursue a career in broadcasting?
- 5. Why should the committee select you as the scholarship winner?
- 6. How are you financing your education?
- 7. List any volunteer activities, honors, offices held, awards, etc. that you have received.

Submit application and accompanying materials via email to: maddi@ampers.org

Due by May 31, 2020