Ampers' Twitter Ampers' Facebook
Diverse radio for Minnesota’s communities
18 Unique Stations from Border to Border

About Ampers | Press Room

WTIP Wins Prestigious Edward R. Murrow Award for Feature about the Ham Lake Fire

GRAND MARAIS – The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced April 25 that
WTIP is among the winners of the 2018 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize
the best journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.
In the small market radio category, WTIP won for Best News Documentary “Ham Lake Fire,” by
Joe Friedrichs.The story included the voices of more than a dozen residents of the Gunflint Trail
and others who were impacted by the devastating Ham Lake Fire that burned in May 2007. The story
debuted on May 4, 2017, to commemorate the 10 year anniversary of the fire. In addition, the
segment remains one of WTIP’s most-listened-to audio features online.
“At a time when it’s fashionable to bash so-called mainstream media, it’s more important
than ever to recognize the extraordinary work of dedicated journalists who serve communities
across our country,” said RTDNA Chairman Scott Libin.
“In cities large and small, representing a wide variety of ownership groups, these news
organizations show why Americans trust local journalists to report fairly and accurately about
issues that matter.” WTIP Station Manager Deb Benedict said winning the Edward R. Murrow Award
is great for the radio station, but also for anyone who was impacted by the Ham Lake Fire
or has a connection to the Gunflint Trail community. “We are very excited and honored to
receive this national recognition for the work we do here on a local level,” Benedict said.
“This is great for Joe and for WTIP. And we are so grateful to everyone who shared their
stories in this feature about the Ham Lake Fire.”
RTDNA received more than 4,400 entries during the 2018 awards season, announcing the
recipients on the 110th anniversary of the birth of Edward R. Murrow. Regional winners
automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will
be judged in May. National awards, including those for network news organizations, will be
presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City
on October 12. National winners will be announced in June.
Executive Director Deb Benedict
WTIP Cook County Community Radio
(218) 387-1070

< Return to Press Room


Minnesota Historical Society Steve Rummler Hope Network